Mom

On Wednesday December 12, 2007 I received a phone call from my sister that My Mom who was in the hospital was not doing very good. The doctors were not sure what was wrong, but there was a good chance she would not live much longer. I waited for more information. While I was waiting I started making plans to get to the hospital. The hospital was in Renton Washington and I was in southern Idaho, which was a ten to twelve hour drive. About an hour later I got the news that Mom was not going to survive, and that I needed to get there quickly. I gave up the idea of driving and scrambled to get plane tickets. I was able to make it to the hospital before Mom passed away. I said goodbye and asked her to tell Dad that I love him and miss him everyday. Mom was an amazing person. She was born to be a teacher and dedicated her life to teaching. Mom and Dad were two of the founding members of the Glenoma fire department and both spent many years serving their community. I have always known that the time would come when Mom would move on from this life here with her children and grand children, but I had hoped that day would be many more years in the future. As I contemplate the loss of the greatest woman I have ever known I am not sad. I will miss Mom for the rest of my life, but God has other plans for her now. I don’t know if God needed a good teacher, or if maybe Dad needed some help setting up a new fire department in heaven. Either way they are now together. I believe they are starting a new life together again, and I know that when my time comes they will have a place for me ready and waiting. With the passing of my Mom this world is a lot worse off, but heaven just got a lot better. I love you Mom, and I am already looking forward to seeing you again.

Jeff

2 Comments

  1. Sis
    Posted December 18, 2007 at 3:35 am | Permalink | Reply

    This is beautiful, maybe you should have been the one to do the writing. I miss her and dad every day too. LeAnne

  2. Shawn
    Posted April 21, 2008 at 8:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hi Scott. I just read what you wrote about mom and I started crying. I loved what you said. I miss mom and dad so much.

Leave a Reply

