What is Christmas?

What is the meaning of Christmas? I have been contemplating that question for a few days now. I have not had much Christmas spirit for the last several years. Last year we went home to spend Christmas with family and that was the most enjoyable Christmas in years. I guess I like so many others have gotten so wrapped up in the commercialization of the holiday that it distracted me from the real meaning of Christmas. Spending the holiday with friends and family are really what the holiday is all about. The giving of gifts is fine, but instead of a mad rush to find something for everyone on your list you should find something that personifies the person you are giving the gift to. Instead of waiting for the sales in early December look for something during the year that just reminds you of the person. Why buy a gift at all. Make something for each person. I like photography and writing what I should be doing is looking for a subject to photograph that reminds me of one of my brothers or sisters. I could write a story, or poem that represents how I feel about them and then possibly illustrate that story or poem with my photos. I have gotten so caught up in the high tech life we all live in now that I just don’t seem to be able to take the time to enjoy the simple pleasures in life anymore. I used to spend hours each week out in the hills enjoying the quite sounds of nature. I rarely ever get out these days. The time has come for me to get back to the basics. I need to make sure I make the time to get out and enjoy those things that have brought me so much pleasure in the past, and to take the time to just sit and watch the sun set once in a while.

One Comment

  1. Lorie
    Posted January 6, 2008 at 2:05 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Amen to a simple way of life.

Leave a Reply

