Decoding the past

I have been somewhat watching the show “Decoding the past” on the History channel.  This episode was about Doomsday 2012: The End of days.  The show explores all of the prophesies from ancient oracles of Europe to Chinese legends, to Myan predictions that the end of the world as we know it will happen on the Winter solstice 2012.

This has gotten me thinking.  I do not believe the end of the world is coming in 2012, but what if it is?  Would  knowing that the world as we know it will be changed in a matter of days or hours change the way you live your life for the next 5 years? Would you spend that time preparing for the end? Would you buy all the toys and gizmo’s you have always wanted so that you could at least enjoy them until the end? This is an interesting question, and I am not sure yet how I would answer it.  If the end of the world is coming in 2012 I guess I better figure out my answer soon.

4 Comments

  1. Posted January 22, 2008 at 2:02 pm | Permalink | Reply

    My favorite Bad Astronomer – Phil Plait talks about alignment of the planets here -> http://www.badastronomy.com/bad/misc/planets.html

    He actually has plans to debunk the 2012 baloney after he finished writing his latest book. Hopefully, that will be before 2012. Ha!

  2. Posted January 23, 2008 at 5:50 am | Permalink | Reply

    Hello Ken. Thanks for the comment. I always enjoy reading Phil Plait, however the event of 2012 is not just the planets aligning. On December 21, 2012 the sun will be aligned with the center of the Milky way galaxy. This has not happened for some 25,000 years so we have no way of knowing what this means. Also you missed the point of the question. The point was not do you believe the world will end on 12/21/2012, rather it was if the world were going to end what would you do to prepare for that event?

  3. Posted January 23, 2008 at 9:36 am | Permalink | Reply

    Again, the universe is BIG. Our sun is SMALL. No worries. Agreed, I went off on the scientific debunking aspect of your post and gave no attention to the Survivor aspect.

    No, I don’t stockpile ammo, guns, food and water. Not even for a natural disaster. Is that a bad thing? Not when you consider the odds. There is usually enough canned food in my house at any one time to get my family through a few days without shopping. A week if things were bad. But in that time, I have to believe that some inept government agency will arrive to help out.

    Then again, look at New Orleans. Maybe I should get me a rifle and some beef jerky.

  4. Posted January 24, 2008 at 8:23 am | Permalink | Reply

    Pareidolia – The human propensity to see patterns in random shapes. This is a great post by Emily over at The Planetary Society.

    http://www.planetary.org/blog/article/00001305/

Leave a Reply

