World Series

Tonight, weather permitting, is game 3 of the 2008 world series.  The stories for this year’s fall classic are not that intriguing to me.  The Philadelphia Phillie’s have not won the World Series in nearly 30 years, and the Tampa bay Rays are in the first World Series in club history.  Granted the Rays have only been around for ten years so there is not a lot of history there.  I am not a big fan of either team this year.  I watched games one and two because I could not find anything else on to watch.  Game three tonight will be different.  I have been a Seattle Mariners fan from day one.  It is not quite as bad as being a Chicago Cubs fan, but the Mariners always seem to find a way to not make it to the fall Classic.  This year the M’s were terrible  with a final record of 61 wins and 102 losses.  They were the second worst team in baseball this years.  Thankfully for the M’s the Washington Nationals finnished with 59 wins and 102 losses.  Last year the tampa bay Rays were the worst team in baseball and this year they are playing in the series.  I hope the Mariners can d the same next year.  I would love to see the Mariners beat the Cubs, or Dodgers in the World Series.

So what does all this have to do with Game three of this years world series?  Nothing really, except for the fact that as a long time fan of the Mariners I did get to watch the Phillies game three starter Jamie Moyer pitch for the M’s for several years.  For those ten years I watched Jamie consistently pitch game after game as many other power pitchers and hot prospects came and went.  Jamie Moyer did not have the fastest fast ball, or the best curve ball, but Jamie was very consistent.  You always new what you were going to get when Jamie took the mound.  And now here we are.  October 25, 2008.  Jamie is less than a month away from his 46th birthday and he is still pitching in the major leagues.  I am not a fan of the Phillies, but I am a fan of the oldest active player in major league baseball.  I will defenitely be watching the game tonight and I will be rooting for Jamie to get his first and probably only win in the world series.  Jamie, win or lose, I do appreciate all of the hard work you have put into the game over the last 20 plus years, and I am glad I got the chance to finally see you pitch in the World Series.  You deserve my friend and I will be watching tonight.

Leave a Reply

