Holiday Treats – Snicker Doodles

Growing up one of the treats my Mom would make that I really loved were Snicker doodle cookies. My folks both took a lot of time every year around Christmas to make many tasty goodies, and i enjoyed all of them and I now make several of them myself. I do have some of Mom and Dad’s recipes that I use, however I have never found Mom’s Snicker doodle recipe. I have tried many different recipes and none of them were quite what I remembered Mom’s cookies being. I finally have a Snicker doodle recipe that brings me back to Mom’s kitchen every time I eat one.

These Snicker doodle cookies are really easy to make and are very tasty. They have just enough sweetness to satisfy any sweet tooth, but not enough to put you into a sugar coma.

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups sugar

1 cup butter or margarine, softened

2 eggs

2 3/4 cups all-purpose or unbleached flour

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup sugar

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Directions 

Heat oven to 400ºF.

Mix 1 1/2 cups sugar, the butter, and eggs in large bowl.

Stir in flour, vanilla, baking soda and salt.

Shape dough into 1 1/4-inch balls.

Mix 1/4 cup sugar and the cinnamon.

Roll balls in cinnamon-sugar mixture.

Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes or until set. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack.

You can use a spoon or a cookie scoop to make the dough balls for a more consistent cookie size. The dough will be very soft and sticky so take your time and don’t worry if the balls are not perfectly round. They will still look great when they are baked.

If you have young kids get them to help make the cookies to leave for Santa on Christmas eve. These Snicker Doodles are so good even Santa’s Reindeer will want one. When I make the cookies the size the recipe calls for I can get 4 to 5 dozen cookies so there is plenty for the whole family and Santa.

Leave a Reply

